Tax Collector

The Tax Collector's mission is to collect as much tax revenue as possible to help the Town meet its financial obligations each year. The office of the Tax Collector is responsible for collecting revenue for property taxes, water/sewer bills and all permits and fees issued by other town departments. Other major departmental responsibilities include responding to inquiries from banks, mortgage companies, attorney's offices and the general public.

The Tax Collector is also responsible for the preparation and mailing of the tax bills based on information contained on the current tax roll certified by the Assessing Department.  This tax roll is comprised of the assessed values, exemptions, owner's name and address, address changes and the legal description of the property.

The property owner is accountable for knowing that taxes are due and payable twice a year. If a bill is not received for each property owned, please contact the Tax Collector's office. If you have a mortgage company that pays your taxes, the bill should be forwarded to them.

Residents are responsible for ensuring that the Town has their correct mailing address on file.  You can confirm if the Town has your correct mailing address by viewing your Property Record Card.  If you need to change your mailing address, please complete an Change of Address form.

Throughout the State of New Hampshire, the tax year runs from April 1st through the following March 31st. Assessments of your property are computed as of the value on April 1st of each tax year which appear on your property tax bill.

There are two bills issued per year; the first bill is an estimate based on one half of the previous years' tax. This bill is mailed out near the end of May and is usually due July 1st every year. The State of New Hampshire Department of Revenue Administration sets the tax rate for the year in the fall. The final bill is calculated using the new tax rate multiplied by your property's assessed value as of April 1st, less any payments made on the first bill. The second bill is mailed after the end of October and is usually due in December each year. 

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Debra L. DeSimone Tax Collector (603) 362-5357
Susan J. Garrant Deputy Tax Collector