### Atkinson Conservation Commission Minutes Saturday, September 18, 2021, 9:00 AM Vacant Land on Deer Run Road, Atkinson (Site walk of Map 11 Lot 20-1)

Approved September 22, 2021

#### **Members Present:**

**Others Present:** 

See attached

Paul Wainwright, Chair John Fournier Monique Chrétien, Alternate Hannah Fried, Alternate

## 1. Call to Order, and Attendance:

Chair Wainwright called the meeting to order at around 9:00 AM, and declared that a quorum was present. Chair Wainwright introduced members of the Commission and Duane Hyde, Land Stewardship Director at the Southeast Land Trust.

#### 2. Purpose of the Meeting

Chair Wainwright reviewed the purpose for the meeting, which was to view the land shown on tax map 11 lot 20-1, which is being proposed for a conservation easement to be held by the Southeast Land Trust. If approved, this would be the first application in Atkinson of RSA 36-A:4-a, I(b) which enables the Conservation Commission to fund qualified third-party organizations such as SELT to facilitate establishment of easements on privately-owned land in Atkinson. Adoption of this section of State law was approved at Town Meeting last March.

#### 3. Discussion

Mr. Hyde briefly reviewed the proposed easement, and encouraged residents to attend the Public Hearing on September 29 at 7:30 PM in Town Hall. Chair Wainwright mentioned that a preliminary proposal was presented to the Commission by Mr. Hyde during our regular meeting on July 28, 2021, and that the discussion can be found starting on page 2 of the minutes. A copy of Mr. Hyde's preliminary proposal is attached to those minutes.

Several neighbors asked why they had not received a notice of the Public Hearing by registered mail, to which Chair Wainwright stated that, in this case, notifying abutters was not required because the hearing was to receive

comments about expending funds from the Conservation Fund, and no application to develop the land was involved.

## 4. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned by default around 9:20 when one of the Commission members left for another commitment, and the remaining three members did not constitute a quorum. The remaining members and other attendees then went on a walk of the land led by Mr. Hyde.

Respectfully Submitted,

Paul Wainwright, Chair

#### Attachment:

• List of Attendees

# **Town of Atkinson Conservation Commission**

## **Meeting Attendance Record**

Date: SPT. SEP. 18, 2021

	Members Present:		Others attending:
1	Paul Wainwright, Chair	Term expires 2022	Charles STAMON
?	Bill Steele, Vice Chair	Term expires 2023	Herene Stahley
NO 🗆	Pete McVay, Secretary	Term expires 2023	Tom Chamberlin
NO	Jeff Nenart	Term expires 2022	I care tade
NO 🗌	Suzie Newman	Term expires 2024	Melissa Finnerun
NO 🗆	Scott Kukshtel	Term expires 2024	Doris Michaud
/ 🔽	John Fournier	Term expires 2024	Jason & Kerry King
			Beth & David caccidt
	Alternates Present:		alizabeth Kiley
<b>√▼</b>	Hannah Fried	Term expires 2022	Chris Walker
1	Monique Chrétien	Term expires 2023	
	Denise Legault	Term expires 2024	
	Honorary Life Member:		
	Tim Dziechowski	No term expiration	
	Dan Kimball	No term expiration	
	Dennis Krause	No term expiration	
		*	
	Recording Clerk:		
	Zack Gilberti		
	44		
	* Speakerphone attendance allowe	d per RSA 91-A:2 II	